Camel Trophy 1986 - Australia

AusMap2.jpg (37755 bytes)

In contrast to the nightmarish conditions of deepest Borneo, Camel Trophy Australia 1986 covered the greatest distance in the shortest time in the event's history. The route from the historic settlement of Cooktown, over looking the Great Barrier Reef, took the fourteen national teams across 3,218 km of the deserted northern outback before reaching their destination at Darwin, thirteen days later.

For the first time, teams from United Kingdom, Malaysia, France and Australia participated, again driving the Land Rover Ninety. Although only fourteen teams took part it was the largest international gathering of participants in the event's history.

Austral1.jpg (63803 bytes)  Austral2.jpg (38119 bytes)  Austral3.jpg (51440 bytes)  Austral4.jpg (49894 bytes)

The convoy's progress across the dry and dusty outback averaged approximately 250 km a day during the two week expedition. Progress was  at times still halted, indeed twenty four hours were spent by teams at one particular river.  The only way to ferry the convoy across the swollen river was in true Camel Trophy fashion - by constructing rafts...

Austral5.jpg (72345 bytes)  Austral6.jpg (64732 bytes)  Austral7.jpg (81033 bytes)

The French team, Jacques Mambre and Michel Courvallet, were declared winners at the Darwin finish.  The "Team Spirit Award" went deservedly to the Australian team of Glenn Jones and Ron Begg.

 (Content from McLean Chapman Associates)


Team Vehicles: Land Rover Ninety
Support Vehicles Land Rover One Ten
Distance: 3,200 km by road
Number of Teams: 14

Participating Countries:

Australia Glenn Jones & Ron Begg Team Spirit Award
Belgium Geoffroy de Liedekarke & Chris Michel
Brazil Leonardo Blume & Rodolfo Ramina
Canary Islands Jose Robayna & Javier Mena
France Jaques Mambre & Michel Courvallet Camel Trophy
Germany Wolfgang Marx & Peter Brussing
Holland Rob van Leeuwen & Jan Bos
Italy Daniele Terzi & Giorgio Albiero
Japan Hidenobu Takeuchi & Yoshinori Kitamura
Malaysia Zaini Shaarani & Tang Fook Leong
Spain Sergio Klein & Ignacio Aguirre
Switzerland Willi Forster & Sepp Ulrich
United Kingdom Jerry Gartley & David Scott
United States Frank Smith & Carl Guffey