Camel Trophy 1990 - Siberia

SiberiaMap2.jpg (44840 bytes)

To celebrate the start of a new decade of adventures, the organisers of Camel Trophy decided to move out of the familiar environment of tropical rainforests. For the first time in Camel Trophy's history, the event was held in the northern hemisphere. Not only north of the equator but in the Soviet Union.  The mystical setting was the vast and fascinating forests of Eastern Siberia, the Tiga, in the vicinity of the largest freshwater lake in the world, Lake Biakal.

Moreover, the eleventh Camel Trophy assumed considerable historic significance since no international event of its kind had ever before been organised or undertaken in the USSR - Glasnost and Perestroika were still a year or so away.

 Siberia1.jpg (45765 bytes)   Siberia2.jpg (33847 bytes)   Siberia3.jpg (38456 bytes)    Siberia5.jpg (34988 bytes)  Siberia6.jpg (27259 bytes)

In keeping with a completely new location was a completely new vehicle.  Originally known as the "Jay", Camel Trophy 1990 was the first of many events to feature the new Discovery.  In 1990 the three-door 2.5 Tdi proved to be more than up to the task and received nothing but praise from the sixteen teams that competed in Siberia. This in itself was something of a record, representing the greatest number of nations ever to have competed in Camel Trophy up to that point.

 Siberia7.jpg (30727 bytes)  Siberia8.jpg (31354 bytes)       Siberia14.jpg (34614 bytes)

Setting out from the start at Bratsk in a southerly direction to Kob, then through the truly vast Tiga Forest, via Kachug to Lake Biakal then west to the finish at Irkutsk on the Angara River. The total, just over 1,600 km of some of the remotest country on the face of the earth.

Siberia15.jpg (29362 bytes)  Siberia16.jpg (23229 bytes)  Sieria17.jpg (40603 bytes)

At the end of the event, overall victory went to the Dutch team of Rob Kamps and Stijn Luyx, who took the Camel Trophy for the Netherlands for the second time.  The coveted Team Spirit Award went to the popular team from the Canary Islands of Carlos Barreto and Fernando Martin.

 (Content from McLean Chapman Associates)


Team Vehicles: Land Rover Discovery 200Tdi three door (19)
Support Vehicles: Land Rover 110 (4) and 127 (5)
Distance: 1,650 km by road
Number of Teams: 16

Participating Countries:

Austria Karl Haas & Christian Laucher
Belgium Alain Duriau & Rudy Coenen
Canary Islands Carlos Barreto & Fernando Martin Team Spirit Award
France Jean Barry & Philippe Bessat
Germany Erik Brandemberg & Hanes Herman Ruthe
Greece George Delatolas & Nick Pastras
Holland Rob Kamps & Stijn Luyx Camel Trophy
Italy Giuseppe Griffo & Umberto Fiori
Japan Bunshiro Tani & Masaquni Hisayuki
Russia (Soviet Union) Mark Poldaski & Anatoly Kuznetov
Spain Alex Baylin Zaldua & Moises Torrallardona I Jou
Switzerland Vito Augustin & Jean-Samuel Costa
Turkey Gengiz Kadir Nomer & Cem Kitapci
United Kingdom Andrew Dacey & Richard Tomlinson
United States Lee Magee & Fred Monsees
Yugoslavia Andrej Skafar & Ognjen Sokolovic