Camel Trophy 1993 - Sabah-Malaysia

SabahMap2.jpg (65993 bytes)

The Malaysian state of Sabah, located on the northern most tip of the world's third largest island, Borneo, was the location for Camel Trophy 1993. The 76,600 square kilometre state provided classic Camel Trophy territory in a part of the world where some of the toughest events have been staged.

Sab1.jpg (30437 bytes)   Sab2.jpg (35001 bytes)   Sab3.jpg (49705 bytes)    Sab5.jpg (46237 bytes)   Sab6.jpg (48490 bytes) 

For the first time in the event's history, the route was completely circular, circumnavigating the state, starting and finishing at Kota Kinabalu, the capital city. The route on muddy tracks through some of the oldest jungles in the world gave the participating teams the opportunity to see some of the world's most spectacular territory.

  Sab8.jpg (37843 bytes)  Sab9.jpg (18961 bytes) Sab10.jpg (46648 bytes)  

This included the "Lost World" of the Maliau Basin in the Southeast of the state, which is unquestionably one of Sabah's most dramatic features. Virtually unvisited and completely uninhabited, this almost circular shaped bowl is largely guarded by cliffs and steep escarpments up to 1,500 metres in height. Often shrouded by cloud and totally inaccessible by road, teams led an expedition on foot into the "Lost World", which proved to be a historic adventure for the Camel Trophy pioneers.

   Sab12.jpg (31144 bytes)    Sab14.jpg (40309 bytes)

Here they constructed a scientific research centre for the Sabah Foundation in less than 24 hours, before the perilous trek off the escarpment back to the vehicles. The subsequent rail journey through the Tenholm Gorge to the final special task site added a sting-in-the-tail to a superb event.

Sab15.jpg (33609 bytes)    Sab17.jpg (55148 bytes)

By the end of the event, the French team, for the second consecutive year, had won the Special Task Award and the Canary Islands team collected the Team Spirit Award. The extremely successful team from the USA, Tim Hensley and Michael Hussey, won the overall Camel Trophy.

 (Content from McLean Chapman Associates)


Team Vehicles: Land Rover Discovery 220Tdi
Support Vehicles: Land Rover Defender 110 200Tdi
Distance: 1240 km by road plus 35 km by train 
Number of Teams: 16

Participating Countries:

Austria Thomas Beuchel & Anton Gachter
Belgium Luc de Rijck & Guy Ivens
Canary Islands Ellis Martin & Francisco Zarate Team Spirit Award
France Paul Gasser & Loup Tournard Special Task Award
Germany Philipp Naegele & Gerhard Schilling
Greece John Yiannis Iatrou & Argyris Zamanakis
Holland Paul Terpstra & Joost Wildenberg
Italy Giovanni Formica & Matteo Ghiazza
Japan Tomoaki Akabane & Nobutaka Endo
Malaysia Sabiamad Abdul Ahad & Jensen Loh
Poland Ernest Daniszewski & Pawel Orkisz
Russia Nikolai Shustrov & Yuri Strofilov
Spain Alvaro Bulto & Sergio Valle
Switzerland Markus Graf & Martial Mathieu
Turkey Hakan Dalokay & Yilmaz Koyuncuoglu
United States Tim Hensley & Michael Hussey Camel Trophy