Camel Trophy 1994 - Argentina Paraguay Chile

ArgMap2.jpg (35641 bytes)

The route for Camel Trophy 1994, was more than 2,500 kilometres long, and for the first time in Camel Trophy's fifteen year history, crossed through three different countries. Starting in Argentina at the famous lguazu Falls in April 1994, Camel Trophy  traversed Argentina, Paraguay and Argentina before crossing over the Andes into Chile.

Arg1.jpg (33838 bytes)   Arg4.jpg (48045 bytes)   Arg6.jpg (18305 bytes)     

Arg7.jpg (37756 bytes)        Arg11.jpg (30782 bytes) 

The journey took the intrepid explorers down the principle river of Argentina, the Parana, through the steamy jungles and marshy savannahs of Paraguay, back into the Argentinean Chaco, and up into the Andes to a height of 5,000 metres. Crossing into Chile across salt plains and the driest desert on earth, the Atacama, the Camel Trophy convoy  finished on a beach at Messionies 120 km north of Antofagasta.

  Arg13.jpg (37236 bytes)    Arg15.jpg (19968 bytes)

Arg16.jpg (21972 bytes)    Arg18.jpg (18637 bytes)  Arg19.jpg (22968 bytes)

Throughout the three week event, there were numerous challenges confronting the participants, but none more awesome than the Andean mountain range. With temperatures on event varying from -20 degrees C in the Andes, to +40 degress C in the desert, and humidity from 100% in the tropical jungle to 0% in the Andes, the climate and terrain were only two of the obstacles the teams had to cope with.

  Arg21.jpg (19162 bytes)  Arg22.jpg (34165 bytes) 

A joint team from Scandinavia and a team from Hungary joined the event for the first time, with the United Kingdom returning after a year's absence. Spain's Carlos Martinez and Jorge Corella eventually won the event, taking the Special Task award as well. The amiable South African team of Etienne Van Eeden and Klaus Hass took the Team Spirit Award.

 (Content from McLean Chapman Associates)


Team Vehicles: Land Rover Discovery 200Tdi
Support Vehicles: Land Rover Defender 110 200Tdi
Distance:        2,350 km by road plus 5 km by ferry
Number of Teams:   18

Participating Countries:

Belgium    Bertrand Delaude & Dirk Verhoeven
Canary Islands Enrique Guillermo Perez & Jose Luis Hidalgo Vega
France   Carine Duret & Jean Yves Paillier
Germany Ingo Paulsen & Ede Weihretter
Greece           Spyridon Kyriakis & George Theodorakopoulos
Holland     Hans van den Eeden & Rob Koster
Hungary Adam Vigassy & Balazs Forizs
Italy    Francesco Garbati Pegna & Andrea Tritarelli
Japan Junichi Wakabayashi & Tadashi Ilo
Poland Piotr Konopka & Slawomir Packo
Russia Boris Kasankin & Alexander Davidov
Scandinavia Christel Person & Olli Kangas
South Africa Etienne Van Eeden & Klaus Haas Team Spirit Award
Spain Carlos Martinez & Jorge Corella Camel Trophy & Special Tasks Award
Switzerland Bruno Kneubuhler & Stefan Waeber
Turkey   Dogan Akora & Kemal Merkit
United Kingdom Mark Cullum & Damien Taft
United States Mark Barber & Dave Simpson